The Bob Newhart Show (1972)


Genre: Comedy

Plot: Bob Newhart is Dr. Robert Hartley, a Chicago psychologist living with his schoolteacher wife Emily. Complicating life for the serene, stammering doc was his neighbor, Howard, a flighty navigator; and Bob's coworkers, dentist Jerry and flippant receptionist Carol. The humor was gentle, sophisticated and, at times, wonderfully surreal. Read More



Episode 22: Happy Trails to You
Episode 21: Crisis in Education
Episode 20: Carol Ankles for Indie-Prod
Episode 19: It Didn't Happen One Night
Episode 18: Easy for You to Say
Episode 17: Emily Carlin, Emily Carlin
Episode 16: Group on a Hot Tin Roof
Episode 15: Son of an Ex-Con Job
Episode 14: Grizzly Emily
Episode 13: Freudian Ship
Episode 12: 'Twas the Pie Before Christmas
Episode 11: Grand Delusion
Episode 10: A Girl in Her Twenties
Episode 9: Shallow Throat
Episode 8: You're Fired, Mr. Chips
Episode 7: My Son the Comedian
Episode 6: A Day in the Life
Episode 5: Carlin's New Suit
Episode 4: Who Was That Masked Man?
Episode 3: A Jackie Story
Episode 2: Ex-Con Job
Episode 1: Bob's Change of Life
Episode 24: You're Having My Hartley
Episode 23: Shrinking Violence
Episode 22: The Mentor
Episode 21: Desperate Sessions
Episode 20: Taxation Without Celebration
Episode 19: Death Be My Destiny
Episode 18: The Heartbreak Kidd
Episode 17: Halls of Hartley
Episode 16: Of Mice and Men
Episode 15: The Ironwood Experience
Episode 14: Love is the Blindest
Episode 13: Making Up is the Thing to Do
Episode 12: Breaking Up is Hard to Do
Episode 11: Here's to You, Mrs. Robinson
Episode 10: Jerry's Retirement
Episode 9: The Slammer
Episode 8: A Crime Most Foul
Episode 7: Send This Boy to Camp
Episode 6: Et Tu, Carol?
Episode 5: The Great Rent Strike
Episode 4: Still Crazy After All These Years
Episode 3: Some of My Best Friends Are...
Episode 2: Caged Fury
Episode 1: Enter Mrs. Peeper
Episode 24: Peeper Two
Episode 23: The Boy Next Door
Episode 22: Birth of a Salesman
Episode 21: Guaranteed Not to Shrink
Episode 20: Duke of Dunk
Episode 19: My Boy Guillermo
Episode 18: Warden Gordon Borden
Episode 17: Carol at 6:01
Episode 16: No Sale
Episode 15: Bob Has to Have His Tonsils Out, So He Spends Christmas Eve in the Hospital
Episode 14: A Matter of Vice-Prinicipal
Episode 13: The Article
Episode 12: Fathers and Sons and Mothers
Episode 11: Over the River and Through the Woods
Episode 10: Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time
Episode 9: Who is Mr. X?
Episode 8: What's It All About, Albert?
Episode 7: Shrinks Across the Sea
Episode 6: Carol's Wedding
Episode 5: The Heavyweights
Episode 4: Change is Gonna Do Me Good
Episode 3: Death of a Fruitman
Episode 2: Here's Looking at You, Kid
Episode 1: The Longest Good-Bye
Episode 24: The Ceiling Hits Bob
Episode 23: Emily Hits the Ceiling
Episode 22: Bob Hits the Ceiling
Episode 21: The New Look
Episode 20: My Business is Shrinking
Episode 19: A Pound of Flesh
Episode 18: The Way We Weren't
Episode 17: Think Smartly--Vote Hartley
Episode 16: Tobin's Back in Town
Episode 15: Home is Where the Hurt Is
Episode 14: Serve for Daylight
Episode 13: Jerry Robinson Crusoe
Episode 12: We Love You... Good-Bye
Episode 11: An American Family
Episode 10: Life is a Hamburger
Episode 9: Ship of Shrinks
Episode 8: Brutally Yours, Bob Hartley
Episode 7: Dr. Ryan's Express
Episode 6: The Gray Flannel Shrink
Episode 5: Sorry, Wrong Mother
Episode 4: The Separation Story
Episode 3: The Great Rimpau Medical Arts Co-Op Experiment
Episode 2: The Battle of the Groups
Episode 1: Big Brother is Watching
Episode 24: A Matter of Principal
Episode 23: Confessions of An Orthodontist
Episode 22: By the Way... You're Fired
Episode 21: A Love Story
Episode 20: Mind Your Own Business
Episode 19: Clink Shrink
Episode 18: The Jobless Corps
Episode 17: The Modernization of Emily
Episode 16: Oh, Brother
Episode 15: I'm Dreaming of a Slight Christmas
Episode 14: T. S. Elliot
Episode 13: My Wife Belongs to Daddy
Episode 12: Blues for Mr. Borden
Episode 11: Fit, Fat, and Forty-One
Episode 10: I'm Okay, You're Okay, So What's Wrong?
Episode 9: Mutiny on the Hartley
Episode 8: Mister Emily Hartley
Episode 7: Old Man Rivers
Episode 6: Have You Met Miss Dietz?
Episode 5: Emily in for Carol
Episode 4: Somebody Down Here Likes Me
Episode 3: Backlash
Episode 2: Motel
Episode 1: Last TV Show
Episode 24: Who's Been Sleeping on My Couch?
Episode 23: Bum Voyage
Episode 22: You Can Win 'Em All
Episode 21: Emily, I'm Home... Emily?
Episode 20: A Home is Not Necessarily a House
Episode 19: Not With My Sister You Don't
Episode 18: The Two Loves of Dr. Hartley
Episode 17: The Man with the Golden Wrist
Episode 16: The Crash of 29 Years Old
Episode 15: Let's Get Away From it Almost
Episode 14: His Busiest Season
Episode 13: I Owe It All to You... But Not That Much
Episode 12: Bob and Emily and Howard and Carol and Jerry
Episode 11: I Want to Be Alone
Episode 10: Anything Happen While I Was Gone?
Episode 9: P-I-L-O-T
Episode 8: Don't Go to Bed Mad
Episode 7: Father Knows Worst
Episode 6: Come Live with Me
Episode 5: Goodnight Nancy
Episode 4: Mom, I L-L-Love You
Episode 3: Tennis, Emily?
Episode 2: Tracy Grammar School, I'll Lick You Yet
Episode 1: Fly the Unfriendly Skies