The Tudors (2007)


Genre: Drama , History , Romance , War

Plot: This costume drama features England's splendid Renaissance dynasty under King Henry VIII. Beginning in Season 1 when Henry VIII was growing desperate for an heir and growing distant from his first wife, the series moves quickly to the period when Anne Boleyn became his obsession. During this time Cardinal Wolsey rose to become the power behind his throne, ruling ruthlessly and nearly absolutely while Henry (played by Johnathon Rhys Meyers) for the most part followed the Cardinal's advice, maneuvering through a series of betrayals and plots against him. When Anne Boleyn plays much harder to get than any woman ever has, Henry begins to search for a way out of his marriage to Catherine of Aragon, so that he can make Anne his wife. Needing a divorce, Henry turns to Wolsey, who promises to help him create waves of backlash from the church, as well as the Spanish Habsburg dynasty and its overseas empire. Against this background gyrate the private lives and political intrigues of several members of the royal court and chancery. This includes Henry's friend and his sister Margaret's true love Charles Brandon, the Habsburg ambassadors, greedy and power-hungry schemers, their incidental victims and composer Thomas Tallis... Read More



Episode 10: Death of a Monarchy
Episode 9: Secrets of the Heart
Episode 8: As it Should Be
Episode 7: Sixth and the Final Wife
Episode 6: You Have My Permission
Episode 5: Bottom of the Pot
Episode 4: Natural Ally
Episode 3: Something for You
Episode 2: Sister
Episode 1: Moment of Nostalgia
Episode 8: The Undoing of Cromwell
Episode 7: Protestant Anne of Cleves
Episode 6: Search for a New Queen
Episode 5: Problems in the Reformation
Episode 4: The Death of a Queen
Episode 3: Dissention and Punishment
Episode 2: The Northern Uprising
Episode 1: Civil Unrest
Episode 10: Destiny and Fortune
Episode 9: The Act of Treason
Episode 8: Lady in Waiting
Episode 7: Matters of State
Episode 6: The Definition of Love
Episode 5: His Majesty's Pleasure
Episode 4: The Act of Succession
Episode 3: Checkmate
Episode 2: Tears of Blood
Episode 1: Everything is Beautiful
Episode 10: The Death of Wolsey
Episode 9: Look to God First
Episode 8: Truth and Justice
Episode 7: Message to the Emperor
Episode 6: True Love
Episode 5: Arise, My Lord
Episode 4: His Majesty, The King
Episode 3: Wolsey, Wolsey, Wolsey!
Episode 2: Simply Henry
Episode 1: In Cold Blood