Wentworth (2013)


Genre: Crime , Drama , Na

Plot: Fans of the iconic Prisoner Cell Block H series, which pushed boundaries over three decades ago and still boasts a loyal following worldwide today, will remember Bea Smith as gutsy and fearless, ruling Wentworth Correctional Centre with an iron fist. But who was Bea Smith before prison? How did a wife and mother from the suburbs become a top dog without rival? Wentworth Prison is a dynamic, often confronting, drama series that begins with Bea's early days in prison. Set in the present day, it is a modern adaptation of Prisoner Cell Block H that contemporises legendary characters and their stories for today's audience. This series takes the viewer inside to an uncompromising environment that explores the politics of women in a world without men, and how such a threatening experience both challenges and often changes those confined and working behind the razor wire. The audience will be introduced to Bea all over again and meet her allies and enemies in the form of iconic inmates: Doreen Anderson, Liz Birdsworth and Franky Doyle, and there are new faces such as Jacs Holt, the ruthless matriarch of a crime family who now reigns over Wentworth. Favourite offices will also return. Meg Jackson carries a shameful secret; Vera Bennett, the well-meaning officer who discovers everyone has a price; Erica Davidson, the crusading Lawyer and Matthew Fletcher who believes in retribution rather than rehabilitation. And a new face, Meg's husband Will Jackson, whose past still haunts him. Each episode explores an individual character's back story, providing an insight to what makes them tick and the circumstances that led them to Wentworth. In doing so we discover that the difference between an inmate and an officer is sometimes simply geography, because they're all prisoners in surprisingly different ways. Like the original Prisoner Cell Block H, Wentworth Prison is, at its heart, a series about survival, a character drama featuring women living in a pressure cooker environment. Despite the rivalries and power struggles, this family of misfits and rebels are forced to forge unlikely friendships and allegiances if they want to survive their time inside. Read More

Next Episode 9x1 Date: May 18th



Episode 10: The Enemy Within
Episode 9: Monster
Episode 8: Goldfish, Part 2
Episode 7: Battle Lines
Episode 6: Fugitive
Episode 5: Fallout
Episode 4: Revenant
Episode 3: Enemy Of The State
Episode 2: Ends And Means
Episode 1: Resurrection
Episode 10: Under Siege (2)
Episode 9: Under Siege (1)
Episode 8: Protection
Episode 7: Bad Blood
Episode 6: Mother
Episode 5: Ascension
Episode 4: Karen
Episode 3: Atonement
Episode 2: Payback
Episode 1: Blood Wedding
Episode 12: Showdown
Episode 11: Indelible Ink
Episode 10: Fractured
Episode 9: Shallow Grave
Episode 8: Lovers And Fighters
Episode 7: The Edge
Episode 6: Angel of Wentworth
Episode 5: Bitter Pill
Episode 4: Winter is Here
Episode 3: Bleed Out
Episode 2: The Boxer
Episode 1: Clean Slate
Episode 12: Hell Bent
Episode 11: Coup De Grace
Episode 10: Mere Anarchy
Episode 9: Snakehead
Episode 8: Think Inside The Box
Episode 7: The Pact
Episode 6: Happy Birthday, Vera
Episode 5: Belly Of The Beast
Episode 4: Loose Ends
Episode 3: Nothing But The Truth
Episode 2: The Bitch Is Back
Episode 1: Scars
Episode 12: Seeing Red
Episode 11: Eleventh Hour
Episode 10: Smitten
Episode 9: Afterlife
Episode 8: Plan Bea
Episode 7: Panic Button
Episode 6: Divide and Conquer
Episode 5: Love and Hate
Episode 4: Screw Lover
Episode 3: Prisoner
Episode 2: Poking Spiders
Episode 1: First Blood
Episode 12: Blood and Fire
Episode 11: The Living and the Dead
Episode 10: A Higher Court
Episode 9: Freak Show
Episode 8: Goldfish
Episode 7: The Long Game
Episode 6: Evidence
Episode 5: Mercy
Episode 4: Righteous Acts
Episode 3: Knives Out
Episode 2: Failing Upwards
Episode 1: The Governor's Pleasure
Episode 12: Fear Her
Episode 11: Into The Night
Episode 10: Jail Birds
Episode 9: The Fixer
Episode 8: Sins of the Mother
Episode 7: Metamorphosis
Episode 6: The Pink Dragon
Episode 5: Twist the Knife
Episode 4: The Danger Within
Episode 3: Boys in the Yard
Episode 2: Whatever It Takes
Episode 1: Born Again
Episode 10: Checkmate
Episode 9: To The Moon
Episode 8: Mind Games
Episode 7: Something Dies
Episode 6: Captive
Episode 5: The Velvet Curtain
Episode 4: The Things We Do
Episode 3: The Girl Who Waited
Episode 2: Fly Me Away
Episode 1: No Place Like Home